It’s All About Who You Know

Networking Business Cards

Cards, Cards, and More Cards

I’m cleaning up my desk, and I’ve neatly stacked all the business cards that I’ve collected since I started The Cookie Drop just a few short months ago.  The stack is 2 inches high.  108 cards, no repeats.

This is 108 unique individuals that I’ve personally shaken hands with and had at least a 3 second conversation with.  Don’t forget…  I used to be an engineer, so here I go with some fun facts for you!

  • 59 of the people I would recognize if I saw again
  • 53 created their own company
  • 15 are in the wedding industry, lets break it down for fun
    • 4 do flowers
    • 4 caterers
    • 1 cupcake girl
    • 1 photographer
    • 1 videographer
    • 3 miscelaneous
  • 10 are tech related, only 1 of which is a large corporation and 7 created their own company
  • 5 printers
  • 6 fitness related folks
  • 2 salons
  • 4 wineries
  • 2 in home non medical care
  • 7 are in the financial arena
  • 13 are selling MLM products

Phew.  That was a lot of cards to sort through.  Plus, I know I’ve lost some because there are people in my mind that I can’t find cards for.  That’s about 25 new people that I meet every month.  It’s amazing to think I used to spend my days behind the computer and interact with at most 5-7 people a day.  And then you see those same people every day.  Wow, that lacked excitement and variety!  Sure, some of these are just business connections, but there are some in here that I truly care about and that I would call my new found friends…

How many folks do you interact with in a day?  Would you prefer it to be more or less?

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “It’s All About Who You Know”

  1. Marcey Says:

    Hey Tina! I know about the stacks and stacks of business cards and the faceless groups that I have once crossed paths with at networking functions. There are some people with names that have crossed my path so much, I feel like we are related or that I knew them for sure… another lifetime??? Nope! Just through friends of friends…

    Well, like we talked about yesterday, find the hubs, get rid of the rest and keep meeting people because you never know when you meet that one person that will change your life!

Leave a Reply

