Giving and Getting for the Holidays

It seems like the white elephant is a popular way for people to exchange gifts on the cheap while getting folks into the holiday spirit.  My biggest issue with the white elephant is that it just seems to encourage the purchasing of more unneeded junk.  I mean really, how many of us have a junk drawer at home?  And, *gasp*, some of us may even have multiple junk drawers!

I have to admit, I opted out for a couple years, and I just felt so scroogey.  So, I’ve been working on getting smarter about the white elephant gifts.  This year we handed out an assorted dozen of cookies and a gift donation to heifer.org.  Both managed to stay out of a junk drawer.

While I secretly coveted a snuggie, I was dissapointed that there were none at the gift exchange this year.  I did however become the proud new owner of some bath soaps, a loofah, some weird gloves, a picture frame, and odd looking box.  It managed to stay out of my junk drawer though because I quietly shoved it back under the couch and just accidentally forgot it.

So, what did you give and get at your white elephant exchanges this year?

2 Responses to “Giving and Getting for the Holidays”

  1. Brenda Says:

    I don’t do White Elephant Exchanges, I’m happy to say, but I had a blast picking my own idea of perfect cookies: semisweet chocolate chip and cranberry seemed like a festive idea; the oatmeal and walnut are to die for; and, if I do say so myself, the peanut butter with pecan and Heath Bar pieces were divinely inspired.

    So thanks for providing me with a great alternative to lame gift giving!

    And you may shamelessly use this plug … you’ve earned it!

    Happy holidays of all sorts!
    Brenda

  2. thecookiedrop Says:

    Aww shucks, Brenda. You’re making us blush… 😀

Leave a Reply

